NO. 48


GCC States Demand Formal Iraqi Recognition Of Kuwait Before WeaponsMonitoring Test Can Begin

MEES is reliably informed that the six member states of the Gulf CooperationCouncil (GCC) - Saudi Arabia, Kuwait, the UAE, Oman, Bahrain and Qatar - arerequesting the UN Security Council to ensure that the projected test period forthe long-term weapons monitoring program in Iraq should not be permitted tobegin until the Iraqi Government has formally recognized the...